6 comments on “Live and let live

  1. If only there was a way to spread this attitude of tolerance. Is there a Tolerance Fairy we could call to sprinkle some sparkly magic tolerance dust over all of us?

    Only yesterday I was dismayed while driving to work, to see a group of four cyclists riding together, two abreast, on the road shoulder. This would have been fine, it’s a nice wide shoulder, certainly room to ride two abreast, except the one in the back on the outside, was actually wobbling and weaving into the traffic lane (55-60mph/90kph traffic, mind you) while looking around behind her for some reason. I almost tooted my horn at her (just a quick toot to get her to pay attention, but didn’t). I thought great, another ditz on a bike making cyclists look bad. I think we can expect more of the same, as more of the folks who haven’t ridden a bike since they were 12 suddenly take to cycling again with the carefree abandon of that inner 12-yr-old.

  2. Digital Dame, Thanks for your reply. We are going to have to stop meeting like this. People will talk!
    Seriously though, you make a good point in your reply and I am already writing another post which touches on the same issue (would have included it in the above post but it was far too long already).

  3. I have found that there are different people everywhere – no matter if they cycle or not. There are just as many “fools” on bikes as there are in cars. I have a more relaxed (live & live) attitude. After all, the road is for vehicles. And they don’t necessarily have to have motors to be allowed on.

  4. I can’t argue with that Les. I tend to laugh at the folly of modern humanity, rushing frantically around to no good purpose and getting stressed about nothing of any importance so that, like overcrowded chickens, they end up pecking each other.

  5. Pingback: Learning to ride safely. Or not. « Bikinginla’s Weblog

  6. Pingback: The Future of Cycling « The Wandering Mind

Leave a comment