5 comments on “The Den

  1. How wonderful to have a room for yourself like that! I desperately need to turn one of my kids’ former bedrooms into a library and do something with all these piles of books 🙂

  2. Oh, my! I finally have a bit of time to come over and read your three posts on painting as carefully as they deserve, and I find de-cluttering has taken place!

    The first thing I thought of was our old saying, “A place for everything, and everything in its place”. You’re exactly right – there’s a bit of a domino effect in such a space if you allow things to begin “tipping”.

    In the first photo, I noticed the little painting of the dog on the wall. I believe that’s the pic you had on the blog some time back. It was one of the first blogs I read – I remember commenting on the good-looking dog!

    Your room makes me think of Goethe’s famous comment, too – “Every day look at a beautiful picture, read a beautiful poem, listen to some beautiful music, and if possible, say some reasonable thing.” Don’t know about reasonable statements, but you’re clearly set up for the picture, the poem and the music!

  3. No, I’m not too sure about reasonable statements either! I’m afraid poems are out – regret to say they have never been a part of my life. As for pictures and music. yes I am well equipped to see and listen but I cannot claim to originate anything beautiful here, though I keep trying.
    As for the room, now that I have made the main alterations, the initial “test drive” has suggested a couple of further improvements. There’s no rush. Give it another week or two and I might have further ideas.

Leave a Reply

