10 comments on “Decisions, decisions…

  1. Oh I envy you! I wish I could do without the car and all the attendant costs. It must be very freeing to get rid of all that. Sadly I live in an area of terrible mass transit. My 45-minute commute to work would take me 2 hours each way by mass transit, I’m not willing to give up two more hours out of my life every day to sitting on buses and light rail. I do that to myself on the days when I ride the bike part of the way, and I’ll tell ya, that makes for some long days.

  2. No doubt it will take a while to get used to having no car. This would not have been possible where we used to live – the nearest decent shopping centre was about 14 miles away and there was ONE bus per week there and back, and you had to phone up the previous day to order the bus!

  3. How lucky you are to have good mass transit available! We have nothing here at all – even in Houston there are only buses and one light rail line within the city itself. There’s no connection between Houston and all the outlying areas but the freeways. Many people spend 2-3 hours in their cars every day.

    Mom gave up driving when she moved down here ten years ago. The traffic was too fast, and her sense of direction too poor. We kept her car and my car for a while, but eventually I sold my 1989 Toyota for exactly the same reason – it was going to begin requiring more investment than I was willing to make. Of course, it had 385,000 miles on it, so I was more than happy with the $500 I got for it!

    We’re still making do with an “oldie” – a 1989 Oldsmobile. They don’t even make Olds now, of course, but it has a couple of things going for it, including good gas mileage, no computer to go haywire, and a steel body instead of fiberglass. If one of those little boxes on wheels plows into us, we ought to be the ones who walk away!

    I think we need more details on that last post by Granny Anne 😉

Leave a Reply

