6 comments on “Sorted!

  1. Oh yay! Glad that’s all taken care of. That’s great that you were able to fix it yourself (with your daughter’s help 😉 ) I would have had to call in the cavalry.

  2. Yes, it is a big relief to have that job almost finished. It is not often that I am stuck on such a problem and it was frustrating, especially as the car has to stay outside on our driveway, making it necessary to cover the window opening with plastic to keep the rain out between attempts to finish the job – requiring a weatherproof tape, the remnants of which will now have to be removed, using some sort of solvent. Guess what I will be doing tomorrow!

  3. Glad to hear your problem’s solved. I took the easy way out, I’m afraid, and simply took the car to the local car glass replacement shop.

  4. Ooo, yeah, careful getting that tape glue residue off the paint. I don’t really know what would be best, I’d try some undiluted car soap and one of those gentle nylon scrubby things. Might take awhile, but I’d err on the side of caution to preserve the finish and paint. I use some stuff called Meguiar’s Liquid Gold to wash my car (1989 Mercedes-Benz 190E, black), I don’t know what brands you have available over there. The paint was already showing a lot of fading and sun damage when I bought it seven years ago so I’m just trying to keep it from getting any worse. Apparently the poor thing spent several years in Florida, and presumably not garaged the whole time.

  5. Nick: I was tempted but I reckoned that I could do the job myself in the time that it would take to find my way to the nearest glass replacement firm (or two), put up with several sharp intakes of breath and listen to excuses about how difficult (if not impossible) it would be to get glass for 20-year-old cars or it would cost me more for their trouble blah blah blah. As it turned out it was really very easy but for actually inserting the glass into the door – which took Jennie no time at all.
    Digital Dame: Very little tape was put on the paint itself and I am told that paint thinner or nail varnish remover will shift it. As I am fresh out of nail varnish remover (!) I will have to use household paint thinner, which shouldn’t affect car paint if used with care and tried first on an area that doesn’t show. Actually, I think petrol might do it – just a little on a rag, and the area washed afterwards.
    Nice to come across someone else with an older car. I think mine was a second car, hardly used but pampered in a heated garage until I bought it a couple of years ago. The paintwork is excellent and I use the Autoglym cleaners and polishes which produce great results. In 20 years it has only done 58,087 miles.

  6. Wow, my poor old beast has well over 200,000 miles on it! That was another reason to start the bike commuting, cut down on the daily mileage on the car. If I drive, it’s 48 miles a day roundtrip. I can cut that in half when I bike, but I can’t do it all the time. I’ve had to have a fair amount of repair work done it, mostly routine (shocks, struts, tie-rods, some ball-joint-thingie, water pump, alternator…it got ugly for awhile but I can’t afford to replace it now), I’m hoping to coax another 75,000 out of it or so.

Leave a Reply

