4 comments on “Inertia

  1. “Inertia” is spot on! And I get the same buzz once I am out and about. I’m not sure it’s nostalgia though. I reckon part of the buzz is to do with the exercise (endorphins). But I reckon that another part of the buzz comes because of the feeling of freedom and speed that you get on a bike. A car might be much faster, but it doesn’t feel it, because you are isolated from the world, whereas a cyclist is involved in the landscape, and with other people on a human scale. But all that is once I am out and about – I still need prodding, so I invent loads of things to prod myself with.

  2. I’d rather be out on my bike than just about anything else. I’ll even get up early on a weekend to get a ride in. Anything that really NEEDS to be done will still be there when I get back.

    I know what you mean about the sense of freedom, GOM1. I think it’s probably because the bike is such a simple machine, you are so much more a part of the journey than sitting in a car and stepping on the gas pedal. It’s a wonderful feeling on a bike. I am one with my bike 😉

  3. You really capture that sense of freedom on the bike. I like the sense of oneness not only with my bike but with the outside world I feel when I’m zipping down streets and along the Mississippi. I also get that sense of nostalgia. When I’m wearing a skirt I practically am a girl again. Or my fantasy of girlhood, anyway.

    Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

