11 comments on “Summer at last

  1. Nice piccies of the horses! Much appreciated. I wonder why the cows haven’t got any food. When I had horses, and there was no grass, we would a) give them hay b) or move them to a better pasture. What is the farmer thinking?

  2. I think that green algae is that poisonous stuff. We had it where I am (it is not there now) and it gives off a toxic vapour. Our council warned people and animals to keep away. It is nasty stuff. I don’t know what it does to the fish but one would think perhaps the Environment Agency would do something, not that there is much they can do. The stuff we had lasted most of the summer.

  3. I am sure you are right. It is not algae in my picture. Algae is more slimy and irregular in appearance if I am not mistaken – but I cannot remember what the green water plant in my picture is called.

  4. Well, over here, we just call the green stuff “pond scum” (that would be the technical term). Heh.

    Maybe the cows like sunbathing more than we realized. What a glorious day it looks to have been! Glad you got out for your ride, hate to miss a day like that.

  5. Velochick: If only the Government would pick the right things to do “nuffin” about. Then we could all relax.
    Nick: Your turn will come! Meanwhile, do you need to be retired to take a bike ride a couple of times per week?

  6. I love your writing style – exactly what comes to mind I suspect.

    Question: When you cycle past a field of cows, do you say “hello”? I do. I have a theory that a large number of (lone) cyclists do also.

    L

  7. Of course I speak to the animals! I am fluent in Moo, Baa and Cluck-Cluck. Sometimes I am fluent in English. Mind you, the cattle shown above paid no attention to me. I suspect their first language might have been French-Moo and I don’t speak that one.

    To quote the late, and truly great, Humphrey Lyttelton:
    “As we journey through life, discarding baggage along the way, we should keep an iron grip, to the very end, on the capacity for silliness.
    It preserves the soul from dessication.”

Leave a Reply

