6 comments on “The Summer of 2010

  1. Hiya J!

    Good to see you back online again, I was wondering what you were up to. Sorry to hear you’ve lost interest in cycling. I haven’t ridden nearly as much this year as I did the previous couple of years, but can’t imagine not having my bike.

    Sounds like you’re staying plenty busy anyway, with painting and violin lessons. Hope Henry gets a good long nap this winter.

  2. Ah, there you are! I was wondering where you were hiding, but did not expect the answer to be “under the brambles and nettles in next door’s garden”.

  3. Thank you Digital Dame, not that I have been away exactly, just lurking in the background. I do a very good lurk!
    Yes Jo, you might be surprised at what you find under brambles and nettles!

  4. Oh, I am thrilled indeed to see you back. I’d noticed you were posting again a few days ago, but wanted to wait until the weekend to be able to really absorb what you had been up to and leave you a proper comment!

    But first, I must acknowledge that I thought your photos of the ships from your last vacation were splendid – especially the tall ship and the photo of the cruise ship “stern to”. They are great photos, very appealing even to someone who doesn’t much like big boats!

    I’m glad to hear about Henry. I’d been wondering about him. I think you’re very wise to “ooch” him toward a more reasonable schedule. I don’t remember if I told you about the woman with two sons in South Africa who’d been tracking her “wild” tortoises. The boys marked some of them with bits of paint on their shells last fall and now at least one has re-emerged,blue painted dot intact. The whole family’s thrilled to see one of “their” tortoises rejoin them for the summer. (Sometimes it’s confusing to be chatting with someone whose seasons are just reversed.)

    I went through exactly the same thing with boating as you seem to have with bicycling. I sailed every week for years, and did many extended trips. Then, one day, it just was over. I enjoyed it, I’m glad I did it, I wouldn’t trade the memories for anything but – time for some new things! It’s the way of life.

    I think it’s exciting that you’re painting again. I’ll look forward to seeing the results of your efforts. You may not be completely pleased with them, but you must understand – I think anyone who can draw or paint is a bit of a magician, and I love it all.

    So much chatter! But, a bit of personal news. We seem to have gotten through the hurricane season storm free on the Texas coast, and are grateful for that. I was diagnosed as having developing cataracts – not so much of a surprise or problem at my age – but a first dr. missed the glaucoma. I was smart enough to trust my instincts and go back to my regular eye doctor, who found and is treating the glaucoma. No serious damage at this point, so we’ll just keep it in check.

    Can’t believe how happy I am to see you back! Enjoy your new projects!

  5. Great to hear from you Shoreacres (and from Digital Dame and Jo of course) again. Indeed I am surprised that you haven’t all given up on me after all this time.
    Now then Shoreacres, first things first: I am sorry to hear about your eye problems. I suppose we are all at risk of these things eventually but I hope that yours have been detected early enough that they can be kept in check.
    Thank you for your kind comments about my photographs. I hope to do better on the next outing (as I did on the Baltic trip in 2008) by taking my laptop (or something smaller perhaps) on which to keep a daily diary and store each day’s photos in separate folders.
    I was amused by the tale of the colour-coded tortoises. Mind you, I hope people don’t get too ambitious with this idea. I don’t think tortoise shells are completely impervious, and the wrong paints or solvents could be harmful.
    Yes it is good that this year’s hurricane season has been relatively quiet – the coastal areas certainly didn’t need drama of that sort on top of the BP saga.
    No, no, there is nothing magical about painting. Admittedly the “best” painters, musicians, writers etc. may well have had some inherited aptitude, fortified by parental influences and home environment from a young age. But, like the rest of us, they will have had to learn the craft – just as you had to learn to write. And if I could paint anything like as well as you can write, I would be one very happy bunny!

Leave a Reply

