3 comments on “Of cabbages and kings…

  1. Well, it’s a matter of considerable irritation to me that I haven’t gotten around to the blogs as I like, to enjoy reading and commenting. And I do enjoy it. For one thing, it’s a nice reminder that my little world isn’t the be-all and end-all of worlds. That’s always a good thing!

    Congratulations on the birthday! It was an astonishment for me to realize a year or so ago that many of my friends now are 70 or beyond. How that happened, I’m not sure. One thing is for certain – not a one of us feels one-foot-in-the-grave-ish, even if we creak and groan a bit from time to time. It sounds like you had a perfect celebration. I’m not so fond of the paper hat and singing waiter routine, myself.

    It’s good to see Henry out and about, too. You might whisper in his ear how lucky he is. His cousins in the Gulf of Mexico are having a hard time of it. A true disaster is in the making. I don’t mean disaster in any normal sense, I mean disaster of Biblical proportions. I have very, very grave fears about where this is leading. It’s out of control and they haven’t a clue what to do about it. It’s a tragedy in the Shakespearian sense – hubris and overweening pride played a great role in the ignoring or refusal of safety precautions that might have averted all this. Too gloomy for words.

    I am wondering if you’ve ever thought of doing a nice music video and posting it to youtube. It would be such fun to hear you play! It does sound like you’re having good fun with that, too.

    See? All in all a very satisfying post you’ve left here! If you write another one, I’ll be more diligent about reading.

    By the way – is the trip coming soon?

  2. Hi Shoreacres,
    Apologies for taking so long to reply but have just (3 hours ago) returned from our trip to Norway, Iceland and the Faroe Islands. More about that later, both here and on Granny’s Ramblings.
    Thanks for your congratulations – I am aiming at 110 (years) by which time I intend to be absolutely impossible. Some say I have achieved the latter already but I am merely practising!
    I cannot begin to understand the scale and the consequences of the oil spill but I fear that there will be more of the same until people at all levels sit up and take notice. To make that happen will probably require some sort of nuclear incident.
    I have thought of producing a music video but there are problems:
    1. We are not that good yet and there is enough suffering in the world without me adding my ten cents worth.
    2. I do not possess suitable sound and vision recording equipment.
    All may be overcome in time but our time has not yet come!

    • Welcome home! I noted all the inactivity here and at Granny Anne’s and presumed you were off having (as we like to say) a “whee of a time”.

      Your travel writing is always so enjoyable – I’m looking forward to hearing all about it. Well, seeing, actually – but you take my point ;-)

Leave a Reply

